KCU’s Safety and Emergency Management Office Recognized on Top 25 List by the National Campus Safety Summit

Oct 7, 2015
Share this:

The Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences (KCU) proudly announces that its Department of Safety and Emergency Management was recently recognized by the National Campus Safety Summit as one of the “Top 25 University Departments.” This list acknowledges the efforts of the department to make a difference in campus safety at KCU.

“We are proud of our Safety and Emergency Management team for making KCU a safe campus for our students, faculty and staff,” said Marc B. Hahn, DO, president and chief executive officer of KCU. “Their hard work and dedication to making a safe and secure campus deserves this recognition and we wish them our sincerest appreciation and congratulations.”

The number one ranking on the list receives the Department of the Year award, which recognizes outstanding accomplishments in student and campus safety by a U.S. college or university administrative department. KCU’s safety and security staff were selected for the list thanks to their efforts to provide a safe campus through the coordination of highly effective safety management tools, including:

  • The installation of a more extensive Blue Phone System, which now encompasses: six towers with emergency phones and an outdoor speaker module to send mass notifications throughout the campus, five smaller towers with emergency phones and small speakers, and cameras and call phones on all 11 towers.
  • The implementation of a Rave Alert system, which sends alerts and all-clear messages to students, faculty and staff via email, text and on all campus computers.
  • The addition of Guardly Mobile, which connects users with campus security operations immediately, regardless of where they are.

According to the National Campus Safety Summit, the amount of submissions was overwhelming. KCU stands tall among the top 25 universities in the nation. Click here to view the complete list of the “Top 25 University Departments.”

Share this: